The Lady from the Sea

Sevenov September 1, 2022

The Lady from the Sea by Henrik Ibsen

Author: Henrik Ibsen | Published: 1888

The Lady from the Sea Synopsis

The Lady from the Sea is centered around Ellida, the wife of Dr. Wangel, who cannot forget her past relationship with a sailor.

About Henrik Ibsen

Henrik Ibsen is a renowned Norwegian playwright and poet who wrote plays that are now considered classics. His works often centered around controversial topics such as women's rights, the effects of materialism, and the clash between public opinion and personal morality. Through his work, he greatly influenced the development of modern European drama.

Ibsen was born in Norway in 1828 to a middle-class family. He studied literature at Christiania University before travelling to Rome where he wrote his first play, Catiline. This was followed by The Burial Mound (1850), Brand (1865), Peer Gynt (1867) and A Doll’s House (1879). These plays established him as one of Europe's foremost playwrights, with A Doll’s House being the best known and most frequently performed today. Find out more about Henrik Ibsen at

Henrik Ibsen's Books on PageVio

PlaysCatiline | The Burial Mound | Lady Inger of Ostrat | The Feast at Solhaug | Olaf Liljekrans | The Vikings at Helgeland | Love's Comedy | The Pretenders | Brand | Peer Gynt | Emperor and Galilean | The Pillars of Society | A Doll's House | Ghosts | An Enemy of the People | The Wild Duck | Rosmersholm | The Lady from the Sea | Hedda Gabler | The Master Builder | Little Eyolf | John Gabriel Borkman | When We Dead Awaken

Here's a full list of Henrik Ibsen's books.

Genres: ,
Completed: Yes
Word Count: 26396

Table of Contents