The Feast at Solhoug

Sevenov August 25, 2022

The Feast at Solhoug by Henrik Ibsen

Author: Henrik Ibsen | Published: 1855

The Feast at Solhoug

In The Feast of Solhoug, Margit celebrates the third anniversary of her marriage to the Master of Solhoug, Bengt Gauteson, although her heart longs for her past love, Gudmund. When Gudmund arrives unexpectedly, Margit begins to plan for a future with him, even if it means murdering her husband.

About Henrik Ibsen

Henrik Ibsen is one of the most celebrated and influential playwrights in modern literature. His plays are renowned for their candid and often controversial exploration of social issues, ranging from bourgeois respectability to sexual morality. Born in Norway in 1828, Ibsen wrote a wealth of plays throughout his career, including A Doll's House, Hedda Gabler and The Wild Duck. His works have been translated into numerous languages and produced around the world countless times.

Ibsen was an innovator who helped define the conventions of modern drama. Through his works he articulated a deep understanding of human psychology as well as strong critiques against social norms that sought to confine individuals within rigid expectations. He also boldly addressed taboo subjects such as women's rights and marital infidelity with remarkable candor for his time period. Find out more about Henrik Ibsen at

Henrik Ibsen's Books on PageVio

PlaysCatiline | The Burial Mound | Lady Inger of Ostrat | The Feast at Solhaug | Olaf Liljekrans | The Vikings at Helgeland | Love's Comedy | The Pretenders | Brand | Peer Gynt | Emperor and Galilean | The Pillars of Society | A Doll's House | Ghosts | An Enemy of the People | The Wild Duck | Rosmersholm | The Lady from the Sea | Hedda Gabler | The Master Builder | Little Eyolf | John Gabriel Borkman | When We Dead Awaken

Here's a full list of Henrik Ibsen's books.

Genres: ,
Completed: Yes
Word Count: 17132

Table of Contents