The Pillars of Society

Sevenov August 29, 2022

The Pillars of Society by Henrik Ibsen

Author: Henrik Ibsen | Published: 1877

The Pillars of Society

The Pillars of Society follows Karsten Bernick, a businessman who hides his sins at the expense of another man’s good name.

About Henrik Ibsen

Henrik Ibsen (1828-1906) was a Norwegian playwright who is known as one of the fathers of modern theater. He wrote over 30 plays, many of which have been adapted for film and theatrical productions around the world. His plays explore issues such as gender roles, marriage and the role of religion in society. Ibsen's work has influenced generations of writers including August Strindberg, George Bernard Shaw and Arthur Miller.

Ibsen's works are still widely read today and some titles are considered literary classics, including A Doll's House (1879), Hedda Gabler (1890), Peer Gynt (1867) and The Wild Duck (1884). These plays focus on themes such as individualism versus conformity, alienation from society and addressing personal responsibilities in relationships. Find out more about Henrik Ibsen at

Henrik Ibsen's Books on PageVio

PlaysCatiline | The Burial Mound | Lady Inger of Ostrat | The Feast at Solhaug | Olaf Liljekrans | The Vikings at Helgeland | Love's Comedy | The Pretenders | Brand | Peer Gynt | Emperor and Galilean | The Pillars of Society | A Doll's House | Ghosts | An Enemy of the People | The Wild Duck | Rosmersholm | The Lady from the Sea | Hedda Gabler | The Master Builder | Little Eyolf | John Gabriel Borkman | When We Dead Awaken

Here's a full list of Henrik Ibsen's books.

Genres: ,
Completed: Yes
Word Count: 32013

Table of Contents