Bleak House


Bleak House by Charles Dickens

Author: Charles Dickens | Published: 1853

Bleak House Synopsis

Bleak House is a novel by English author Charles Dickens, published in 1853. Like most Charles Dickens novels, Bleak House was published in serial between 1852-1853 before publication in book form. Bleak House is regarded as one of Dickens' significant literary pieces, with its complex plot, extensive cast of characters, social commentary on the British legal system, and the prevailing social issues of the time.

The narrative of the story centers on two primary plotlines. The first track focuses on Esther Summerson, a young orphan taken in as the ward of the wealthy and mysterious John Jarndyce. Esther plays a pivotal role in the story, narrating a substantial part of it and serving as a critical character who sheds light on the lives and circumstances of the other characters, such as Sir Leicester Dedlock, Lady Dedlock, Tulkinghorn, and Ada Clare.

The second plotline of the novel centers around the ongoing lawsuit called Jarndyce and Jarndyce. This lawsuit revolves around a challenged inheritance and has continued for multiple generations, resulting in significant agony and monetary devastation for those implicated. The novel represents the legal system as dishonest, ineffective, and lacking moral integrity, which leads one of the characters to his death.

About Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens was a renowned English novelist who lived during the Victorian era. He wrote about social issues, poverty, and justice in his time, drawing attention to the realities of life for those living in industrial cities such as London. He wrote many works of fiction that have become classics, and his stories are still well-known today.

Dickens' writing style was also recognizable; he mastered the art of storytelling by creating vivid worlds populated with intriguing characters. His characters were often complex and memorable; they had unique personalities and backstories that brought them to life on the page. Find out more about Charles Dickens at

Charles Dickens' Books on PageVio

NovelsThe Pickwick Papers | Oliver Twist | The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby | The Old Curiosity Shop | Barnaby Rudge | A Christmas Carol | Martin Chuzzlewit | The Chimes | The Cricket on the Hearth | The Battle of Life | The Haunted Man and the Ghost’s Bargain | Dombey and Son | David Copperfield | Bleak House | Hard Times | Little Dorrit | A Tale of Two Cities | Great Expectations | Our Mutual Friend | The Mystery of Edwin Drood

Here's a full list of Charles Dickens' books.

Completed: Yes
Word Count: 355211

Table of Contents

Share This Article