Wuthering Heights

Sevenov August 18, 2022

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Author: Emily Brontë | Published: December 1847

Wuthering Heights Book Summary

Wuthering Heights is Emily Brontë's only novel, published in 1847 under the pseudonym Ellis Bell. The novel uses several narrators and is told from a variety of perspectives. It is about Heathcliff, the foster son of Earnshaw, and two landed gentry families, the Earnshaws and the Lintons, two families who reside on the West Yorkshire moors. The inhabitants of Wuthering Heights include the Earnshaws' son, Hindley, and his wife, Frances. At Thrushcross Grange live the Lintons. Their daughter, Catherine, is Hindley's wife.

The story starts with Mr. Earnshaw bringing home an orphan whom he names Heathcliff. Hindley despises Heathcliff, and when Hindley becomes the master of the household, he demotes Heathcliff to the position of a servant. Heathcliff and Catherine are good friends, but when Catherine marries Edgar Linton, Heathcliff is heartbroken. He leaves Wuthering Heights and doesn't return for years.

When Heathcliff finally does return, he is a changed man. He is now wealthy and plans to avenge those who have wronged him.

Notable characters in Wuthering Heights: Catherine Earnshaw, Heathcliff, Hindley Earnshaw, Edgar Linton, Isabella Linton, Ellen “Nelly” Dean, Lockwood, Hareton Earnshaw, Catherine “Cathy” Linton, Linton Heathcliff

About Emily Brontë

The Brontë sisters are some of the most iconic authors in English literature. Emily Brontë is best known for her novel Wuthering Heights. Her sister Charlotte Brontë is best known for Jane Eyre, while Anne Brontë is best known for Agnes Grey. Her father, Patrick Brontë, raised his daughters to be well-educated and to have a love for literature. Find out more about Emily Brontë at sevenov.com.

Emily Brontë's Books on PageVio

Novels: Wuthering Heights

PoetryPoems by Currer, Ellis, and Acton Bell

Here's a full list of Emily Brontë's books.

Completed: Yes
Word Count: 118733

Table of Contents