Barnaby Rudge: A Tale of the Riots of Eighty

Sevenov September 23, 2022

Barnaby Rudge: A Tale of the Riots of Eighty by Charles Dickens

Author: Charles Dickens | Published: 1841

Barnaby Rudge

Barnaby Rudge is the first historical novel by Charles Dickens, first serialized between February to November 1841 and published as a book in 1841. His other historical novel, A Tale of Two Cities, also uses a major historical event as the story backdrop. This historical novel tells the story of Barnaby Rudge, a simple-minded young man caught up in the anti-catholic Gordon riots of 1780. During this period, London was shaken by anti-Catholic riots that left many dead and wounded. Through misadventures and misunderstandings, Barnaby finds himself embroiled in a far-reaching conspiracy that threatens to cost him his life.

The novel is notable for its nuanced portrayal of characters from both sides of the political spectrum at a turbulent time in British history. Dickens uses this backdrop to explore themes such as social injustice, public unrest, and religious prejudice and intolerance. Through gripping scenes and vivid characterization, Dickens offers readers an insight into how people respond to moments of crisis. Following Barnaby's journey through chaos and uncertainty, we can see how he changes over time as he develops an understanding of himself and his relationships with others. Find out more about Barnaby Rudge: A Tale of the Riots of Eighty at

Notable characters in Barnaby Rudge: Barnaby Rudge, John Willet, Joe Willet, Gabriel Varden, Dolly Varden, Sir John Chester, Edward Chester, Emma Haredale, Hugh, Lord George Gordon, Miggs

About Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens is one of the most renowned English authors of all time. He is widely known for his vivid and memorable characters and his gripping storylines. His works often highlighted the harsh realities of Victorian England, such as poverty, inequality, and corruption.

Born in Portsmouth in 1812, Dickens witnessed great poverty during his childhood, which influenced his writing style later on in life. As an adult, he worked as a journalist before becoming a full-time writer. His career soon flourished with the publication of The Pickwick Papers in 1836, followed by Oliver Twist in 1837 and Nicholas Nickleby in 1838. These successful novels propelled him to fame throughout England and beyond. Throughout his lifetime, he wrote 15 novels, five novellas, hundreds of short stories, and several non-fiction pieces focused on social reform, justice, and morality. Find out more about Charles Dickens at

Completed: Yes
Word Count: 258375

Table of Contents